Jump to content

Munro's Books

Members
  • Content Count

    48
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Munro's Books

  • Rank
    Advanced Member
  1. until
    Free to attend. Doors open at 6:30pm. New poetry, commentary, and even a manifesto or two will feature in this evening with three heavy-hitting Canadian writers. John Barton, Victoria’s Poet Laureate, gathers his most provocative essays, public lectures, and reviews in We Are Not Avatars, a collection 25 years in the making. Meanwhile, David Eso looks back on the work of Robert Kroetsch in Post-glacial, his selection of poems from the postmodern master. And Miranda Pearson goes on a journey in Rail, which tracks the English-Canadian diaspora through its thoughtful, subversive poems. Enjoy a multifaceted event that’s sure to inform and inspire.
  2. until
    Tickets: $100, available now! Join us for Victoria's second annual Giller Light Bash and celebrate the best in Canadian fiction, support Frontier College (the country's oldest national literacy program), and watch the live Giller Prize Awards broadcast from the exquisite Crystal Ballroom at the Empress. Please be advised that this is a seated dinner event (tables of 10). Hosted by Margo Goodhand, former editor-in-chief of the Edmonton Journal and the Winnipeg Free Press, the evening will feature six panelists, each defending one of the shortlisted titles for the Giller Prize: Carol Bellringer, Auditor General of British Columbia Ian Ferguson, author, director Jack Knox, author, Victoria Times Colonist columnist Mark Mawhinney, financial advisor, Odlum Brown Limited Maureen Sawa, CEO of Greater Victoria Public Library Cassandra Togneri, Victoria co-host of Confabulation
  3. until
    Tickets: $12.50 Available at the Alix Goolden Hall Box Office (900 Johnson St.), online or at Munro's Books Book & Ticket Package: $37.50 Available only at Munro's Books. The beloved host of CBC's Quirks and Quarks is ready to tour the galaxy. Won’t you join him? In An Earthling’s Guide to Outer Space, Bob McDonald zips through Martian caves, storm clouds, and distant nebulae with smart but accessible stories, experiments, and illustrations. Tickets will go fast for this family-friendly event, so don’t miss out!
  4. until
    Free to attend. Doors open at 6:30pm. Join us as we celebrate new work from the heart of Victoria’s writing community. Marilyn Bowering’s What Is Long Past Occurs in Full Light draws from childhood memory, literary history, and the natural world in its beautiful meditations, while Pauline Holdstock’s new novel, Here I Am!, tells a difficult story through a six-year-old’s eyes. Finally, Michael Kenyon finds inspiration in Darwin and Jung in Travellers May Still Return, an ambitious collection modeled on geographical forms and psychological journeys. Broaden your horizons at this triple launch featuring three of Victoria's best!
  5. until
    Free to attend. Doors open at 6:30pm. Two talented writers blend the personal, political, and poetical in their sophomore collections of poetry. In Thicket, Melanie Janisse Barlow explores the thorny side of communication in the modern world, while Renaissance Normcore builds on the themes of intimacy and power that soared in Adèle Barclay’s award-winning If I Were in a Cage I’d Reach Out For You. Don’t miss this dual reading with some of the country’s brightest voices.
  6. until
    Victoria’s Steven Price catapulted to fame with his sprawling novel By Gaslight, which remains one of our bestselling titles. Now, with Lampedusa, he sets his sights even higher, bringing to life a glittering 1950s Sicily through the eyes of Prince Giuseppe Tomasi Di Lampedusa, author of The Leopard. In the tradition of Michael Cunningham’s The Hours, Lampedusa explores the nature of art through the struggles of a real artist, fleshing out fact with exquisite fiction as moving as it is ambitious. Don’t miss one of the season’s most-anticipated book launches!
  7. until
    In store at Munro's Books. Doors will open at 6:30. Tickets: $20, includes a copy of Indigenous Relations You may recall last year's runaway bestseller, 21 Things You May Not Know About the Indian Act, which helped us all understand the legacy of that not-so-long-ago document. Knowledge is the first step. Next comes action. Author Bob Joseph, founder of Indigenous Corporate Training Inc, will be teaching a mini-class based on his new book, Indigenous Relations: Insights, Tips & Suggestions to Make Reconciliation a Reality. With an eight-part process designed for both individuals and corporations, Indigenous Relations will equip you with the necessary skills to respectfully avoid missteps in your work and daily life—benefiting workplace culture as well as the bottom line. If you have ever been curious about the state of reconciliation in Canada and what we can all do to make it a reality, you won't want to miss this event.
  8. until
    One of Victoria’s finest short story writers returns this spring with another breathtaking collection. In Meteorites, Julie Paul explores the myriad ways we pick up the pieces after our lives have been shattered, whether through death or injury or subtler (but no less powerful) impacts. Twins in love with the same girl, grieving sons fleeing to faraway lands, duty-bound Sunday organists and criminals shedding dark pasts—no matter how quotidian or extraordinary their circumstances, Paul’s characters remain deeply human and infinitely compelling.
  9. until
    Vancouver Island. It’s easy to romanticize our lush, idyllic home—but there’s more to life here than hiking, whale watching, and wine. In Island Home, local chronicler Anny Scoones gives voice to the quirkier side of Island life, from overenthusiastic foodies, to chainsaw carving festivals and the giant gnome just north of Nanoose Bay. No matter what prompts her latest “little think,” Scoones proves an essential literary tour guide for anyone intrigued by our eclectic corner of Canada. Round up your neighbours and enjoy this local launch!
×
×
  • Create New...